Lasik Eye Surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lasik Eye Surgery

I'm seriously thinking of having lasik eye surgery. I have been wearing contacts/glasses for about 25 yrs. I do not have optic neuritis it any problems w my eyes except terrible vision. Has anyone w MS had it done? I'm concerned about flare ups. I have RRMS and have had no new symptoms since being dx in 2006.

What does your eye doctor say about it?

Comment

I had laser vision correction. I actually opted for the older type of procedure, PRK, rather than Lasik. Same laser procedure to reshape the cornea, however rather than creating a flap in the epithelial layer of the cornea, the epithelial layer is removed in PRK. It grows back naturally. It's a personal decision, obviously.

My laser sugery was prior to my being diagnosed. I was having symptoms back then (about 6 years ago), however. I don't recall any increased symptoms. I didn't even have pain in my eyes. For me, it was one of the best decisions I've ever made. To this day I am still thankful that I wake up everyday and can see with 20/20 vision without correction, unless I'm having a flare of Optic Neuritis of course.

My eyesight was terrible. I began wearing glasses at age 2, and had worn contacts for 20 years prior to my surgery. My eyes were so tired and irritated by the long term use of contacts. I wouldn't wear glasses in public because they looked like coke bottles.

Hope everything works out for you!
      , T2B

"I have a lot of pain in my microwave".

Comment

I had it done, when I had MS but did not know it

And I was fine, no problems. I've since had bouts of ON that have permanently harmed my vision though.

Comment

I have had MS since 1998 and had ON 3 times. I had lasik and it only lasted for 7 years...it was a good 7 years though.
          Florida ~ MS Diag. 1998 with optic neuritis.

Comment

Originally posted by pummers View Post