Need advice. Been back to work 3 weeks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need advice. Been back to work 3 weeks

I am a nurse working in a hospital in Ireland. I was diagnosed in September last. I have just finished my third week back to work. I'm doing 3x10 hour shifts instead of 3x12 hour shifts(what I used to work). I'm exhuausted after work and it takes me a while to recover the next day. I started getting tingling and sensory issues yesterday after a busy day. But getting there. My manager asked me would I work 2x10 hour days and one 12 hour shift the week after next. I said no because I feel I'm not able for it. I said no twice and when she didn't accept that I said I'd let her know on Monday. She didn't accept that and said if I don't try a long day I won't know how I am and I eventually agreed to do it. I need advice on if I should try the 12 hour shift and risk being exhausted or should I go to her on Monday and explain I can't do it. I have been to occupational health before I went back to work.

I would explain that you don't need to try a 12 hour shift to know if you are capable of doing it, because you are already struggling to work a 10 hour shift. Stand firm, and tell her that you KNOW you are not up to adding yet another 2 hours. I know, for myself, that if I exhaust myself one day, then I am pretty useless the next.

It sounds to me like you are already doing a stellar job trying to keep up.

Good luck.
    20+ years of sx - no dx yet - getting close!

Comment