Help - I'm not sure what's next

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help - I'm not sure what's next

Which we all know is "normal" when we live with MS.

However, over the past year despite having stable MRI's my cognitative abilities are declining along with my typing ability. I work as a buyer and my boss has been riding me and has written me up twice for not being able to meet my metrics.

I have met with her and our HR rep - I asked for some accomodations - an ergonomic review of my workstation, the possibility (due to my problems with "processing" due to the MS) to slightly lower my metrics vs. non affected members of the department and because of fatigue and coordination issues to have the ability to work from home a couple days a week.

The only accomodation she would agree to was the ergonomic study and she told me that our department couldn't afford to purchase a large keyed keyboard to make typing easier I'm on FMLA -interestingly my boss had no problems with me until I disclosed I had MS. (she has fibromyalgia and is off/out of the office many days of the month).

In September 2012, she put me on a performance improvement plan - we were supposed to meet weekly to review my performance - she didn't show up for any of the weekly meetings. In October, I was off for three days (I also have Meniere's disease) and the moment I came back she pulled me into the office and told me she needed to sign the performance paperwork (I had signed this when she put me on it initally in September).

She argued with me that she had not filled it out, I went and got my copy which showed that she had put it in place for 60 days on September 1st. So technically it should have finished on November 1st, but she failed to have any weekly meetings with me, due to her absences. She extended it until end of December. She was supposed to meet with me on 11/2 and again today and nothing.