No announcement yet.

Thinking of resigning and applying for unemployment or short term disability

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thinking of resigning and applying for unemployment or short term disability

Anyone have any experience with nj unemployment or disability? I currently work as an esthetician where I perform facials and massage using my hands all day and I am having trouble with spasticity and numbness. I know that it's very hard to get disability but what about resigning due to medical issues? I just don't know what else to do as this is becoming a problem for me. Any suggestions? Thanks

It is my understanding that if you resign you aren't eligible for unemployment so investigate that further before making a move.

Is there anything else you can do for employment that might not require using your hands so much? From what I hear unless you have like a government pension etc. disability income is usually pretty minimal. Good luck.
    He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
    Anonymous

Comment

I am not familiar with NJ unemployment regs., but in general, eligibility for unemployment requires that you be available and able to work. Claiming disability to support your claim for unemployment benefits may actually disqualify you for unemployment benefits.

For STD, disability in general and FMLA leave of absence, it is important that you have the support of you doctor.

It also depends on the definition of disability in your employer's STD policy. Paraphrasing the 2 possible definitions of disability in the policy:

'unable to perform esential functions of the job' you were hired or are currently required to perform

or

'unable to perform functions of any job'