considering reducing hours at work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

considering reducing hours at work

I am a technician for a cable company. The job is physically demanding, some days i am upa nd down stars for hours. keeps me in great shape but it is getting very dificult for me. I have a partner that has had 3 major spine surguries so most of the house work, yard work, and care of the pets falls on me. With a demanding job on top of that i am just not keeping up. I am so exhuasted all the time I have to force myself out of the chair. I am afraid if I ask to reduce my hours I will lose my job, which can't happen because I am the medical insurance provider for myself and partner. Any advise would be welcome.
    RRMS DX FEB. 2009
    At least now I have an excuse for being clumbsy and absent minded

I'm not sure if your industry offers health benefits for part-time employment but many do if you are willing to pay more for the coverage. Is there another career you might be better suited for now that MS is in the picture?

I'm all about planning for the future when possible and would worry that going to part-time isn't going to be enough money to support two people. I would also wonder how long you will be able to continue even part-time if your physical condition is the reason you had to cut back on hours.

I hate this disease.
    He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
    Anonymous

Comment

If you are not comfortable with the current job, just switch it. Health is wealth. Health comes first. If you are facing too much physical difficulties then start searching other job which requires less physical strength and just leave current job.

Comment