Anyone a pilot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone a pilot

I was wondering if anyone here was a pilot? If so how to you manager your MS? Is it a problem? What meds do you like?

I'm a pilot. MS automatically invalidates your medical. I should point out that although I have MS, I am completely asymptomatic. You'll need to rely on part 67.401, a special issuance medical, which I'll call SI moving forward. It's the last bastion of flight medical.

I was given a special issuance medical last October, and will need to renew it in August. They still use your previously issued medical expiration date, the SI medical is only good for a year. Strangeness of the FAA, you still need to go get your regularly scheduled medical exam (which you will fail because of MS) at whatever your interval is.

You should contact your local regional flight medical office, they will provide you with the forms and requirements for MS. Your AME should be able to provide contact info. It's better to deal directly with the regional office.

You need to following to get your initial special issuance medical:

A good letter from your MS doctor saying that there are no impediments that he can see to being able to fly - this helps a lot of he's an AME - but even if not, putting stuff like your EDSS score is good.

All you medical history with regards to MS - lab reports, MRIs, visit reports, etc.

A visit to an ophthalmologist (not to be confused with an optometrist) and have them fill out the FAA form (8500-7). They'll also need to do visual field charts. Make sure you are very clear when you make the appointments that you need a very thorough exam - I tried to be, but they had no idea when I needed when I arrived. As far as I know, this is only required for the first SI medical.

You need to mail them your existing medical (now invalid).