Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Unable to find the right word or saying the wrong word - I'm losing my mind!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unable to find the right word or saying the wrong word - I'm losing my mind!

This has been happening so often lately, and I'm so mad at myself!! I struggle to speak, and often have pauses and hesitations, or I stumble over words. If this isn't frustrating enough, sometimes a completely erroneous word will come out. For instance, I was trying to say something about "breakfast" today and the word "birthday" came out. It's not a big deal when I'm with family as they know a little bit about the speech issues, but I'm an office manager and have to talk to both my employees and clients. I need to be able to communicate clearly without sounding ridiculous.

Help! Is there anything I can do for this?

Offering Support

Hi Macaela,
    I don't have any answer for you, but want you to know that you are not alone. I too am looking for answers. It always helps me to know that I am not alone.
    Teresa

Comment

I have the exact same problem and if I hear a word in the background (tv or another conversation) I will insert that word in place of the one I intended... If I am nervous or upset it gets so bad I studder and can not make a coherent statement.... I have trouble understanding what I read and have to read slowly and several times to make sure I comprehend it and even then I will mess it up... My family is constantly correcting me on things I read and say... The scariest is my family will tell me things I say that I have NO recollection of

Comment

First- welcome to MSWorld! Second, you are not alone with not being able to come up with the right words! I seem to go in streaks with this problem! I also "stumble or hesitate" too, and it is frustrating! Although I don't work with the public anymore, it still is embarrassing at times.