After 25 years

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

After 25 years

of driving a truck, i am no longer safe. I have a hard time staying awake. Ive been protecting my job for the last 7 years by not mentioning the "F" word.(FATIGUE) My doctor hasn't pulled me from the truck but i don't trust myself. My fatigue comes and goes and knows no rhyme or reason. Scares the heck outta me when I'm 1,000 miles from home and can barely keep my eyes open. I have only driven truck and have no marketable skills.

I feel guilty and weak, although I know it's an illness. We are struggling as my wife lost her job 9 months ago. She is working 3 part time jobs and like most people, never planned for this day. I don't know where to go, i wish i wasn't a citizen of the USA then i could get some help. What to do, 44 years old and don't know what i want to be, or what i can be. Oh forgot to mention that we have 4 kids at home 7 to 18 and a couple grandkids.

We kept pushing for the American dream nice home pool in the backyard and now, well we all know what happens now. Very depressing in our home these days. Been too hot for me to get out in the sunshine so i sit around and waller in the mud.

I am so sorry this is happening to you but glad that you are willing to recognize it and make changes before you become unsafe and harm yourself or someone else.

No great advice just wanted to let you know that we understand how miserable and unfair this disease can be.
    He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
    Anonymous

Comment

I'm wondering if you should check with your doctor about treating the fatigue. When one has MS, the tendency is to blame every symptom on MS, but there are many other illnesses that cause fatigue and that can be treated.