Help - FMLA not approved?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help - FMLA not approved?

Hi, I'm new to this site but not new to MS, diagnosed in 2002. I've been working at my company for 20 years. From 2002 to 2008, I've been completing the FMLA forms and were always approved. There are no changes when my doctor completes them each year and I've never used all of the time that is allotted. However 2009, my company requested additional information and clarification from my doctor. The additional forms they created were completed and after 4 or 5 months it was approved. In March 2010, again the forms were completed, they requested additional information and again they were completed.

However after multiple meetings with HR, I was told in November 2010 that my FMLA was not approved but they were looking into ADA accommodation. After 2 1/2 months, Friday, February 11, 2011, I was informed in writing that FMLA & ADA accommodation are not approved. However they have created a new position for me, same pay but no longer a Supervisor (something I'm proud of). I've been a Supervisor since 2001, same position and all my reviews are above average. They want me to sign this document stating I agree I'm not approved for FMLA & ADA and accept the new position they are offering. I don't want to sign it because I feel I will be giving up my rights. I do not agree that I'm not covered under FMLA.

If I lose my job, I will end up on disability, due to my current symptoms. This notification I received on Friday has caused an increase in my current flair up so my doctor took me out of work for a month. I'm scared, frustrated and angry which does not help my MS. Is this legal what they are doing? Can FMLA not be approved? What are my options and who can help me? Please let me know, I'm not ready to stop working.