Tysabri and Medicare

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tysabri and Medicare

I am on Tysabri and I start Medicare in Oct. I almost fell over when I found out how much it cost on Medicare. I am going nuts, I can't afford this! I know that Ty will help you, but the infusion center won't. I don't qualify for low income.

Does anyone have any ideas? I am new to Medicare and don't know the in's and out's. Is there a way to get help for a something this expensive when you aren't low income. I don't have the money to pay for treatment and have to much for help, what a predicament!

Is there absolutely no one on here that is on Ty and Medicare that can tell me how they did Ty with their Medicare coverage? Surely there is with all the people here. Please, I need some help.

Comment

I'm on Tysabri & Medicare. It was no problem, the doc just wrote the order. I recieved a call from my Tysabri case manager who went over my coverage detail and what it would cost.

Medicare picks up 80% of the cost of Tysabri and the cost of the infusion. Medicare picks up blood tests, the 6 month doc appointments and MRI at 80% like they do with all things like that.

Then my supplemental insurance pays the remaining 20%. I receive no bills from Tysabri treatment. I was on a patient assistance program for betaseron. When I used betaseron all I had to pay was $20 for mailing costs every 3 months. Tysabri costs me less than that-----medicare and my supplemental insurance pays 100% of everything....except gas for driving to the infusion center once a month. Depends on the price of gas which is less expensive to me. Betaseron or Tysabri.

That is one of the reasons I am very worried about JCV antibody test.

What if I get that test and find out I am positive for JCV antibodies..how could I afford to switch to something else?