any diagnosed firefighters?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

any diagnosed firefighters?

i have just been diagnosed with ms last week. i am an aircraft rescue firefighter and am just looking for advice, guidance or just some sort of peace of mind that i will be able to return to full duty.....is there anyone out there in similar circumstances that can give me a little info....any and all responses are greatly encouraged and highly appreciated...thank u

working

Well about 5 years ago I was hit the news of MS I am a detective on a homicide apprehension team for the City of New York. I have 20 years on my job, I feel the best thing is not even tell them. No one on my job knows.....hope I helped I know where you are at and feel the way you do... It sucks.... feel free to hit me up.

Mike
    Live every day as it is my last, dont give in, and be grateful for all we have, because someone is always worse off. God Bless America and God Bless our troops that are defending our freedom

Comment

Police Officer with MS

Hello MDER123 & Furenzykgurl
      I have felt so alone after being diagnosed with M.S. 2 1/2 years ago and being a police officer. Mike, I am former NYPD and moved to Florida where I am now working. I am also a detective and am struggling with extreme fatigue, especially from the heat. My work is suffering and I am trying to relocate back up north to be close to my family and friends. I have been job hunting up there, but as we all know the job market is awful.

My fear is getting written up for poor performance. It takes me much longer to get my cases completed and I fear disclosing my diagnosis will result in my being re-assigned to a miserable dead end desk job. Unfortunately, there is no protection from ADA if I don't request accommodations, so that is what I'm faced with having to do this week.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Comment