Question... any advice???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question... any advice???

Ok, So I am a manager at a florist... when it became questionable if I had MS or not my manager and employer both held the breath to see if I was still capable to do my job, well patting myself and tooting my own horn. I showed them that I am still effective and meet my deadlines without a problem, I get results! However! .... when I was out to have my 3 day steroids, I was docked 17% of my salary and 17% of my bonus < because the 3 days equaled that> I am on salary, for mothers day I worked 13 days straight, most holidays and pay periods I work 6 or 7 days a week, two weeks ago I went for injections in my spine, was out for a day, yesterday I found out that my Pay will reflect that, paying me only 91% of my salary... because I did not work 5 days that week. question, Even though it was for a medical procedure can the company do that? others that I have spoken to think they are trying to make me quit, I have worked for this company for almost 3 years and never missed a day or took a personal day until I started falling and had to go to the doctor, and now doctor visits are a part of my schedule. being a florist is all I know....

It sounds like you would benefit from consulting an employment law attorney. You're probably leaving some details out for the sake of brevity, but what you've described about your employer sounds fishy.

Federal law determines which positions are paid hourly and which are salaried. Classifying an hourly job as salaried to avoid paying overtime is illegal. Calling a position "managerial" when the job consists mostly of hourly labor tasks and little managerial function is also illegal.