Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Graduate Student needing advice

I would like to know if anyone can suggest an approach to a situation:

I am a graduate student and am newly diagnoised with MS. I am registered with disability office on campus. In the begining of this semester I requested a letter to be sent to a teacher of a class I knew I would have problems with ( cognitive issues). I asked my professor if he had recieved the letter and he said yes. I spoke to him in his office and he indicated he is not obligated to anything in the letter and just put it in his desk. The only request I asked was for additional office hours during the week ( we are only allowed 15 minute time slots with him or the TA and 15 minutes is not going to work for me in this sort of class). After I did poorly on the first test I asked again about the office hours and he said have the disability representative contact him. I later found out she did and still no help from him. He said he is not obligated to grant additional office hours. Needless to say I did poorly in the class and still nothing.

I wanted to know if graduate programs can deny accomindations to a student? I am so lost and dissappointed about how my department is handling this. I have finally found out why I was having problems academically and now that I know about the issue I can better address them and do better.

Does anyone, student or anyone have any suggestions for me. Thanks

You need to speak to the Dean of your university, he/she will be in charge of faculty development and/or discipline. Talk to said Dean about your concerns and requests for reasonable accommodations. Many universities also have an ombudsman office that you can speak with, and they may be able to help you with these issues also. Without giving legal advice, talk to the Dean about what you feel are ADA violations. Even if ultimately there are no violations, it will at least make them listen to what you have to say. Good luck.