Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Denied LTD and STD is it worth appealing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Denied LTD and STD is it worth appealing?

hello fellow MS'ers,

I am still new to this disease---Dx RRMS 12/2012, Copaxone 01/13. Currently minor Sx -- numbness /tingle/tightness in the right hand, some short term mem issues but not disabling...

In Feb 2013 I changed jobs for a promotion including an nice pay bump. I was also exited about the LTD and STD that this company offered. It was a generous policy that I paid for so if I needed to use it, it would be tax free....

What I was not expecting was the fact that I needed to be approved to get the LTD/STD. As you can guess, Aetna rejected my application without any consult with my Dr just based on my honesty about my MS and Type 1 diabetes on the EOI form.

Now my question is:

Is it worth the effort to appeal this decision? I am a male, 44 yrs old and in excellent health (aside from MS and Diabetes ) and I am pretty sure my Dr would provide a positive perspective on my condition.

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks!
    TONY

Had you lied on your application and then needed to use the policy. Aetna would have reviewed your medical records and denied your claim because you fraudulently entered the contract.

So you applied for a disability policy with Aetna and they denied covering you? Is the basis of your denial the preexisting conditions of MS and Diabetes or something else?

Is this an ERISA disability policy?

Did you attempt to purchase the policy directly from the insurance company or through the company?

I believe if you attempted to purchase the policy directly from Aetna the policy would be covered under the laws of your state. In that case you should consult a disability lawyer in your state.

If your policy was purchased directly through your employer you need to have your cased reviewed by an attorney familiar with ERISA the claims.